This is a surprise to me but….I’ve got the music in me? Who knew?

All my life I’ve been a fan of music. I have always thought it was the soundtrack of my life.

I even got into radio with the thought, “I’ll play the music others perform. I love to listen to it, but haven’t an ounce of rhythm.”

Within the last half year we inherited a piano from my late uncle. Having it in out house is a very comforting feeling because it is now a 3rd generation that gave this piano a home. I can feel the history within it. I figured I would try to learn how to play knowing that my musical skills are terribly lacking. Much to my surprise, what started as, “Let’s give it the ol’ college try” has become so much more.

I enjoy playing. Ok, that’s an understatement. I really enjoy it. Even after I finish practicing my actual lessons it is fun, even relaxing, to plunk around trying to “make it sound right”.

Now the actual reason for the post. We are finally having major work done on the house to improve it before the baby arrives. Due to the contractors, I haven’t been able to practice as much as before. A reality, sure. But I am actually longing to play now. This has caught me off guard completely.

If you would have told me I would miss playing an instrument anytime before six months ago I would have laughed at you.

Ever had that thought before? Have you ever had a positive thought like that? Sure we all have the “I would never do that” thought that resulted in a negative, or not-so-positive result. But have you had one in a positive way? What was it?

Leave a Reply

