5-Minute Fridays–The First Attempt

A Five Minute Writing Challenge.

Something I picked up from The Gypsy Mama

I love this idea. It is simple. 5 minutes of writing. What is neat about it is this, as she puts in her blog each Friday:

“No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Just painting with words. Finger-painting even.”

The rules are simple:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

OK, here we go. Five minutes on this topic:

“See”

Five minutes on “See”. Hmm. I’m not sure quite yet what to write. But I notice, or is that SEE, by the clock on the wall that I am writing this during the last five minutes of the day on Friday. It is literally 11:55pm as I start. I have thought about doing this for about three weeks now and finally am sitting down to do it. Like most plans I make, I start to type and hear a voice. The little one is either awakened by the typing, which I doubt, or she is having a dream. Here is to hoping it’s a good one that helps her sleep even more.

But, back to the topic. “See”.

So often I seem to see things differently than most. I see a lot of negativity on the web. Negativity is much to easy to do. It is better to work at seeing the positive in life and online. There is so much positive to see. But you have to look. We can see beauty everywhere. In nature, in our homes, in our faith, and in our jobs. Sure things are never perfect. But I am sure there is someone in your world that makes you smile. I’ll even wager there is more than one. Look around, think about it, and I’m sure you will find at least one person that is capable of making you smile even today.

See, I can do this. Hmmm. Who knew?

That’s it. It’s 12:00. It is now Saturday.

Leave a Reply

