Never Thought I Would Say Or Think THAT!

We all have those lines. Those never-say-never-type lines in our lives. I’m pretty sure 5 year old young Marty said, “I’ll NEVER be around girls. They are gross.” Yet, we all change and go back on those little declarations.

I know 15 1/2 year old Marty once thought, “Downtown Appleton is HUGE! I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to drive in that big city.” This is typed by a guy who has now driven in many major metropolitan areas. Most of them (Chicago, Manhattan, Minneapolis, St. Paul, and others) during rush hour and more than once.

I even recall “single Marty” thinking, “I’ll never amount to anything in life.” Now “married Marty” has a wife and child and feels like “single Marty” was just too impatient.

Things change. People change. We all have those statements we have made that reverse over time. But do you have those lines you just never expected to think, much less actually speak? Over the course of the last year, I feel as though I have thought or uttered more of those type of lines than ever before in my life.

This past Thursday was the 1 year birthday of my little girl. I knew having a child would cause me to contemplate or verbalize lines I never considered before. Lines like:

+”Stop licking the wall? Don’t the bumps on the wall hurt your tongue?” Which, I am ashamed to admit was followed by my considering a taste to make sure it did indeed hurt. I mean, what if it tickled and I never knew?

+”Just blow the bath bubbles. Stop trying to eat them.” Again, I considered a taste. But couldn’t get myself to actually do it.

+”Stop licking Pooh.” (The stuffed animal….not the…nevermind.) Maybe I should just feed her a more healthy diet and she’ll stop trying to eat everything in site?

+(I think I am quoting the next one verbatim.) “Stop, stop, stop. STOP! STOP! C’Mon? NO….Don’t do THAT now. I didn’t know that was even possible! Crap. Crap. CRAP!!” This quote happened at about 7 1/4 months on what started out as routine diaper change. I checked the diaper and wasn’t 100% sure it was even wet. Then all THREE ends let loose at once. The clean up was almost of a hazmat quality. And it was just Maggie and I. No “support team” of Mumma around. At the time I suspected I may have moved on to a new class. Daddy Clean Up 301. Alas, it was just another learning moment. By the way, she laughed the entire time. Me? Not so much.

They weren’t all eating or “mess” related. Just this past week I was out looking for a little birthday gift. I found out she is starting to work with blocks. So I thought I would get some of those oversize faux Legos for little kids. When I saw two different bags. I knew both were the same size and were precisely what I was looking for. That was when I had one of those thoughts I never thought would ever cross my mind, “Oh, now those pink one’s are much cuter than the standard colors.” Normally that thought would have caused me to turn in my own Guy Card. But this time I knew it was ok to say it.

I know I am going to post more of these lines in a future post. But what lines have you said that you NEVER thought would come to mind, much less cross your lips?

One thought on “Never Thought I Would Say Or Think THAT!

  1. Recently had the thought just how many of my thoughts and opinions have changed as I’ve grown older. I think my 36 year old self would definitely not see eye-to-eye with me at 21.

Leave a Reply

