Five Minute Friday–Dance

I know this sounds like a Creative Writing course assignment, but I do enjoy the challenge. A blog that I follow, Lisa-Jo Baker: tales from a gypsy mama does a weekly feature, and challenge, called #FiveMinuteFriday free write time!

The rules are simple:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you and encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule.

This weeks topic is “Dance”. So…here goes:

When I first saw the topic, I thought about skipping. Because, let’s face it, real men don’t dance. Right? Well….not quite.

I have always viewed myself as a rather emotionless person. No romance, no squishy feelings. But I have met people that have shown me I am wrong.

Yes, I am talking about my wife mostly. But there are others. Like when it is 3 am and Margaret awakens for whatever reason. After a few nights of struggle I found this move. Hold her close and sway, back and forth. Or to the left then the right. It started to work. Then came the song, “Back and forth…back and forth…here we go again…back and forth.” Not exactly Neil Diamond quality lyrics, but it seems to calm her right down. Still does today. (I think it is the tone of my voice rather than my smooth dance moves, but only she knows and she isn’t talking about it yet5.)

Another was a complete stranger. I was travelling a few months ago. I was driving for over 3 hours and had consumed 2 20-ounce bottles of water. And, to be blunt, I had to go to the restroom. REALLY GO!!. I pulled into a church that was open. I was sure they would have a bathroom I could use. They did! But there was a line. Only 2 people. So, I waited….and danced a little dance swaying back and forth. Finally, after what seems like 4 days but was actually 4 minutes, I was next in line.

Then she came up. An 8 year old Vietnamese girl. Who was “dancing” too. Clearing she was under a little more pressure than I was. But there we were. Dancing to the music in our heads trying to hold in as tight as we could.

I let her go ahead of me. I will never forget that little smile of relief when she came out and even held the door for me.

And, I’ll never forget the dance. Hehe.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday–Dance

Leave a Reply

