Five Minute Friday — Here

It is another Five Minute Friday at The Gypsy Mama. Today’s topic is “Here”. Now, just a quick summary of the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

I really enjoy doing this exercise. And there is a reason you haven’t heard from me in a few weeks. This may clear it up a little. So here we go….Five Minute Friday….

(Start)

I am sure there is some notes philosopher that has spoken this, but I know it from a Clint Black song. The line goes like this, “Wherever you go. There you are.”

I have always loved that line. Because it is so true in a literal way. But recently I had a few “near misses” with some health issues. And where I was…was in a quiet place. This all ends in good news now. But the waiting game of over two months was somewhat difficult for a worry wort like me.

So wherever I went….was a somewhat spooky place. And there I was.

I know I will be including some of this journey in the coming weeks. But the bottom line for me is that if you can’t laugh at life, something is wrong. When you are having medical tests and you are the only one laughing in the room…it doesn’t help. (Explanations in the coming weeks for certain on this one.)

Finally, if I ever wondered what Simpsons character I was most like, I now know. I would have guessed Homer. I would long to be most like Bart. Some would probably say Flanders. But ther truth is…I am like Dr. Hibbard. In the face of seriousness, I actually laugh. Ok, more like giggle.

Here is where I am. A man who looks life in the face….and giggles when it is uncomfy. I’m not 100% proud. But it is where I am.

(End)

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday — Here

Leave a Reply

