Five Minute Friday–Connect

It is another Five Minute Friday at The Gypsy Mama. Today’s topic is “Connect”.

Once again, so you can get the gist of what I am about to write, just a quick summary of the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

So here we go….Five Minute Friday….”Connect”.

(Start)

You’ll have to forgive me, but this is a rather selfish 5 minutes. I am using it as a time to connect to someone I have felt disconnected to for awhile…me. This week has been a hectic one. I have travelled a large amount of miles by car and completed a boatload of work in the early part of the week. Then it was meeting-after-meeting-after-meeting-after being up early to work. (Not at all a complaint, just a fact.)

Today, I have taken the workday off. To spend time with my little one. Who is finally napping after an active morning. By active, I do not mean merely running around, but showing that she now knows that when she has lost the attention of those around her, by letting out this very loud and clearly Daddy-esque yell. (It is incredibly annoying. But I am the man that helped make her who she is and I am slightly proud to see her ability to show her dissatisfaction in such a clear way.)

So now, I write. For five minutes straight. The house windows are open. There is a great breeze coming through. I am sneaking in a small salad for lunch and enjoying the peace and quiet with only my typing and the breeze able to be heard.

All the hectic parts of life are in the background. While I connect with myself in this relaxing moment.

Uh…..moments over. I can hear her calling. Well, the five minutes is up. The silence is over. But the breeze is still in the house.

Life is good.

Is it strange that five minutes is all I needed to recharge?

(END)

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday–Connect

  1. Visiting from Gypsy Mama’s blog.

    I agree it’s not strange, sometimes just the thought of taking a pause and a breath for yourself is all you need. =)

  2. I think it’s more strange that you give yourself the 5 minutes than that that’s all it takes. I forget too often that 5 minutes is only 5 minutes and that if I just give myself that 5 minutes everyone will be much happier. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

