The Humility of Fatherhood

First off a belated Father’s Day to all dad’s and grandfathers. Not just biological, but adoptive, uncles, godfathers, brothers that may have influenced you (in a good way), and all other forms of fatherhood that are possible.

For me, Father’s Day is taking on a newer meaning. One of humility. With a three year old and 8-month old, I still feel like a new daddy. (Mostly because I’m making it up as I go along. I’ve now learned that is a typical trait of most dads. So I know I’m not alone.)

In future posts I will detail more of my full Father’s Day. Just to wet the appitite, I bring you a simple exchange between the 3 year old and myself. This was how the day started. It was early and we were going out for a drive. So there we were, just the two of us. Just after she was buckled into the seat she smiled like she had a secret to share but wouldn’t risk bursting at that moment.

But once I sat down and buckled my seatbelt she blurts out at the top of her lungs, “HAPPY FATHER’S DAY DAD!!! LET’S CELEBRATE!!”

I haven’t fished in a long time. And it always annoys me when people fish for compliments, but I have to admit I was going on a verbal fishing trip with my daughter. I dropped my mythical hook in the water by asking, “What exactly do we celebrate on Father’s Day?”

I was met with the always “satisfying” response, “I dunno? What?”

Sure I was a little dissapointed, but I soldered on ready to set the hook once she answered this question correctly, “Most people celebrate how much they like or love their dad. So, do you like or love your dad?”

Oh I know, I was seriously fishing for a compliment here. But it seemed so easy. Until she responded almost as quickly as I asked the question, “Well, I dunno. You give me time-outs. And now they are (holding up her fingers to show the correct number) THREE MINUTES LONG!!!”

And another moment showing the “humbling of a dad” was complete. I could only laugh. Although it did get me thinking much of the morning how much I didn’t focus on those moments alone with my dad. How now, I would love to share one more moment alone talking with him. Plus, during times of prayer, how often I let the distractions of the world get in the way of my prayer. Sometimes even when I’m sitting in prayer, I let my thoughts drift away from Him right in front of me.

Always cherish those times alone with your dad. In all forms. Don’t focus on the “time outs” you have been given, rather the true time out with dad.

Leave a Reply

